Yamal LNG infrastructure

Resource Base

The Yamal LNG project is based on the feedstock resources of the South-Tambeyskoye field located in the north-east of the Yamal Peninsula on the coast of the Ob Bay. According to the PRMS reserves standards, the proved and probable reserves of the South-Tambeyskoye field are estimated at 926 billion cubic meters of natural gas and 30 mmt of liquid hydrocarbons. The production potential of the field amounts to approximately 27 bcm of natural gas per annum with the duration of plateau of at least 20 years.

The field development plan stipulates the drilling of 208 directional production wells with horizontal completion and length of horizontal sections exceeding 500 meters from 19 well pads.

Special “ARCTICA” drilling rigs were built for the project. They were designed to operate in the extreme climate conditions of the Yamal Peninsula, which ensures high drilling performance regardless of season and weather conditions.

To increase efficiency of field development, innovative and environmentally friendly equipment and materials are being used. For example, drilling is performed with the usage of hydrocarbon-based drilling fluids that enable high-quality well completion. 

 

LNG Plant

A plant with a capacity of 16.5 mmt per annum of LNG is being built right at the South-Tambeyskoye field on the coast of the Ob Bay. In order to both optimize construction costs and streamline the project schedule, a modularized approach is used. The LNG plant will consist of three trains of 5.5 mmt annual capacity each. First train is planned to be launched in 2017.

When the plant becomes operational, the hydrocarbon mix from production wells will be supplied via gas gathering network to the integrated treatment and liquefaction complex.

Initial separation, including removal of mechanical impurities, water, methanol and condensate will be done at the inlet facilities which will also include methanol regeneration and condensate stabilization units. Separated gas will be supplied to the liquefaction process trains where it will pass through several process stages: acid gas and methanol removal, dehydration and mercury removal, as well as LPG extraction. Pre-cooling will be done in the propane cooling loop, while liquefaction - in the mixed refrigerant loop. At the end of the process, liquefied natural gas will be stored in the cryogenic tanks.

Along with the LNG trains, the integrated LNG complex will also include LPG fractionation facility, stable gas condensate and refrigerant storage facilities, a power plant with a 376 MW capacity, utilities and flare systems.

 

LNG Transportation

Special ARC7 (Russian arctic classification standards) ice class LNG carriers  have been custom-designed and are being built for the Yamal LNG Project. The carriers will enable year-round navigation without icebreaker support along westbound navigation routes and, during the Arctic summer - along the Northern Sea Route.

 

The carriers design is the result of cooperative work of Russian and international classification societies, the leading research and design institutes, shipyards and ship-owners. Vessel design is based on the double action concept: the bow has been adjusted for navigation in open water and thin ice, while the stern has been optimized to enable navigation in severe ice conditions.

 Main specifications of the ARC7 tanker:

  • Cargo capacity - approximately 170,000 cubic meters of LNG
  • Capacity of propulsion unit – 45 MW
  • Speed in open water – 19.5 knots
  • Speed in 1.5 m thick ice – 5.5 knots
  • Primary fuel – LNG, with a  dual fuel diesel-electric propulsion system equipped with three “Azipod” units

  

Seaport

Federal property will include ice protection barriers, port harbor and approach channels, vessel traffic management system, navigational support aids and the marine service buildings. Yamal LNG facilities include the LNG and gas condensate offloading jetties, rolling cargo berths, material offloading facilities, port fleet berthing facilities, storage facilities, administrative and support zone, and the utilities systems.

Construction will be accomplished in two phases - the preparatory phase and the main phase. The preparatory phase includes construction of material offloading facilities for process modules and general cargo. The port is currently operating on a year-round basis and enables uninterrupted supply of construction materials and equipment.

The main phase includes the construction of the LNG and gas condensate jetties. The port is scheduled to be fully operational in 2017.

 

International Airport

International airport is an integral part of the Yamal LNG project. The airport facilities include an ICAO category I airfield with a runway of 2,704 m х 46 m, hangars for aviation machinery, and a passenger terminal, including international flights area. The airport is operated by Sabetta International Airport, which is a 100% subsidiary of Yamal LNG. The first technical flight with landing of an aircraft took place on 4 December 2014. Regular flights to Sabetta from Noviy Urengoy, Moscow and Samara are currently in operation.

  

Sabetta Village

Sabetta village, located on the eastern coast of the Yamal Peninsula is the base for the Yamal LNG Project. All necessary infrastructure has been built at Sabetta for the comfortable residence of construction workers. The auxiliary facilities of the living complex are being built: a fuel and lubricant storage depot, boiler facilities, a power supply complex, dining halls, medical centers, laundry facilities, saunas, gymnasium, administrative buildings, hotel, fire station, sewage and water treatment facilities, heated garage, and storage facilities for food supplies.

Инфраструктура проекта

Ресурсная база

Ресурсной базой для проекта «Ямал СПГ» является Южно-Тамбейское месторождение, расположенное на северо-востоке полуострова Ямал на берегу Обской губы. Доказанные и вероятные запасы месторождения по международной классификации PRMS оцениваются в 926 млрд куб. м газа и 30 млн т жидких углеводородов. Проектный уровень добычи составляет около 27 млрд куб. м газа в год на протяжении как минимум 20 лет.

Проект разработки месторождения предусматривает бурение 208 наклонно-направленных эксплуатационных скважин с горизонтальным окончанием (с длиной горизонтального участка не менее 500 м) с 19 кустовых площадок.

Специально для проекта были разработаны и изготовлены буровые установки «Арктика». Установки предназначены для работы в сложных природно-климатических условиях Ямала, они полностью защищены от ветров, что обеспечивает качественно иные условия труда для персонала и непрерывность бурения, независимо от погодных условий.

Для повышения эффективности разработки месторождения применяются инновационные и экологически-безопасные технологии, оборудование и материалы. Бурение скважин осуществляется с использованием буровых растворов на углеводородной (масляной) основе, что позволяет сохранить естественные фильтрационно-емкостные свойства продуктивного пласта.

 

Завод СПГ

Завод СПГ  мощностью 16,5 млн. тонн в год строится  непосредственно на Южно-Тамбейском месторождении на берегу Обской губы.

В строительстве используется модульный принцип монтажа, что значительно сокращает затраты на строительство в условиях Арктики и оптимизирует график реализации проекта. Производственный комплекс будет включать три технологические линии сжижения газа производительностью 5,5 млн тонн в год каждая. Первую очередь планируется запустить в 2017 году.

После запуска завода углеводородная смесь со скважин будет по газосборным сетям поступать на единый интегрированный комплекс подготовки и сжижения природного газа. 

На входных сооружениях комплекса будет происходить сепарация, то есть отделение от газа механических примесей, воды, метанола и конденсата. В составе входных сооружений предусмотрены установки регенерации метанола и стабилизации конденсата. 

Отсепарированный газ будет поступать на технологические линии сжижения и последовательно проходить очистку от кислых газов и следов метанола, осушку и удаление ртути, извлечение сжиженных углеводородных газов. Далее очищенный газ будет поступать на предварительное охлаждение  и сжижение. Для предварительного охлаждения газа будет использоваться пропановый холодильный контур, для сжижения – контур со смесевым хладагентом. СПГ будет подаваться на хранение в криогенные резервуары.

Интегрированный комплекс также будет включать установки фракционирования сжиженных углеводородных газов, парки хранения стабильного конденсата и хладагентов, электростанцию мощностью 376 МВт, общезаводские инженерные системы и факельные установки.

 

Транспортировка СПГ

Для проекта «Ямал СПГ» спроектированы и строятся специальные танкеры усиленного ледового класса «Arc7» (по российской классификации), позволяющие осуществлять круглогодичную навигацию без ледокольной проводки в западном направлении и в течение арктического лета - в восточном направлении по Северному морскому пути.

В разработке арктического танкера принимали участие российские и зарубежные классификационные общества и ведущие проектные и конструкторские институты, судоверфи и компании-судовладельцы. 

Танкер обладает системой двойного действия - носовая часть приспособлена для навигации в открытой воде и в условиях тонкого льда, а кормовая оптимизирована для самостоятельной навигации в сложных ледовых условиях.

Основные характеристики танкера «Arc7»:

  • грузовместимость около 170 тыс. куб. м СПГ; 
  • Мощность силовой установки 45 МВт; 
  • Скорость в открытой воде - 19,5 узлов;
  • Скорость при ходе во льдах толщиной 1,5 метра - 5,5 узлов; 
  • Основной вид топлива танкера – СПГ, применяется двухтопливная дизель-электрическая пропульсивная система с тремя установками "Азипод".

 

Порт

В федеральной собственности (заказчик строительства ФГУП «Росморпорт») будут находиться оградительные ледозащитные сооружения, операционная акватория, подходные каналы, системы управления движения судов и навигационного обеспечения, здания морских служб. К объектам «Ямал СПГ» относятся технологические причалы по перевалке сжиженного природного газа и газового конденсата, причалы накатных грузов, причалы строительных грузов, причалы портофлота, складские помещения, административно-хозяйственная зона, инженерные сети и коммуникации. 

Порт строится в два этапа - подготовительный и основной. Подготовительный этап - строительство грузового порта для приемки строительных грузов и технологических модулей завода СПГ. В настоящее время грузовой порт работает в круглогодичном режиме, принимает технологические и строительные грузы.

Вторая очередь порта - строительство технологических причалов для отгрузки СПГ и газового конденсата. Готовность порта к принятию СПГ-танкеров  будет обеспечена в 2017 году.

 

Аэропорт

Для целей Проекта «Ямал СПГ» на территории лицензионного участка построен международный аэропорт. Аэропортовый комплекс включает в себя аэродром I категории ИКАО, взлетно-посадочную полосу 2704 м х 46 м, ангары для авиатехники, служебно-пассажирское здание, в том числе международный сектор. Оператором аэропорта является 100% дочернее предприятие ОАО «Ямал СПГ» - ООО «Международный аэропорт Сабетта». Первый технический рейс с посадкой самолета был выполнен 4 декабря 2014 года, на данный момент действуют регулярные рейсы из Нового Уренгоя, Москвы и Самары.

 

Поселок Сабетта

Поселок Сабетта, расположенный на восточном берегу полуострова Ямал, является опорным пунктом Проекта «Ямал СПГ». В поселке создана  вся необходимая инфраструктура для проживания строителей. Возводятся вспомогательные объекты комплекса жизнеобеспечения: склад хранения ГСМ, котельная, энергоцентр, столовые,  медпункты, прачечная, бани, спорткомплекс, административно-бытовой комплекс, гостиница, пожарное депо, канализационные и водоочистные сооружения, теплая стоянка для автомобилей, склады хранения продовольствия.